Emma Jolly, handsome, clever, and rich, with a comfortable home and happy disposition, seemed to unite some of the best blessings of existence; and had lived nearly twenty-one years in the world with very little to distress or vex her. – Jane Austen, Emma.

Standard

All right, ALL RIGHT. I may have altered one of the words in that opening sentence just slightly. A teeny, weeny bit.

My Biography

Today, I’ve been thinking about famous Emmas.

There have been a few in recent years, and I want to see if each of them live up to their name. They’re all going to get their very own ‘Emma rating’, whether they like it or not.

I bet you’re quaking in your boots, Miss Watson.

Yeah. You should be…

Emma #1

Emma Bunton (aka Baby Spice)

Back in the day, this Emma was A LOT of people’s favourite Spice Girl. Personally, I preferred Ginger, mostly for the Union Jack dress. That was, until, she tore the band apart and left to release that cover of ‘It’s raining men’ and… I can’t talk about it any more.

photo credit: elle.com

Anyway, back to Bunton. She’s a lot less cool nowadays, and has somewhat slipped off the radar after those ‘Two Become One” heydays. But, y’know, she’s still successful. She still had a stint on Celibrity Dancing on the Stars with Ice, or whatever it is.

Emma rating 1996 (yes, that was 16 years ago): 5/5

Emma rating 2012: 3/5

Emma B 2012. Photo from brits.co.uk

Emma #2

Emma Watson

She’s not my favourite Emma in showbiz, I have to say I find her a bit… innocent. Also, I can’t believe she apparently passed on the chance to sleep with Rupert Grint at any point during the last ten years.

However, I’ve gotta hand it to this lady, she has come a LONG way from Hogwarts in the past few years: Face of Burberry, Face of Lancome, and the type of face that doesn’t look like a lesbian potato with a pixie cut. Yep, I have to say she’s pretty cool.

Not the worst transition through puberty

(NOT that Harry Potter isn’t cool, because everyone in the world knows that it is.)

Watson’s also been cast the role of Sam in the movie version of The Perks of Being a Wallflower, due for release at some point towards the end of this year. It’s one of my all-time favourite books, so it’ll be interesting to see what she’s done with it.

Emma rating: 4/5

Emma #3

Emma Stone

Is it wrong for me to admit that I have the most serious, heart-throbbingly innapropriate woman-crush on Emma Stone? I don’t care. I love her. I think she’s fantastic. I want to be her. I spend most of every day trying to be her and convincing myself that I look like her. (Maybe a little around the chin, no?)

She’s beautiful, she’s hilarious (on and off screen) and she gets awesome roles. She just seems REAL, y’know? I love her. I’ve loved her in everything from Superbad to Easy A to The Help, and now I love her as the face of Revlon.

That’s all I can really say about Emma Stone right now, she’s actually too fabulous for words.

Emma Stone for Revlon. Note to Self: buy this lipstick.

Emma Rating: 5/5, blatantly.

Emma #5

Emma Thompson.

If Emma Stone is who I want to be RIGHT NOW, then Emma Thompson is who I want to be in thirty years time. She is cool beyond doubt.

She made me cry in Love Actually, and laugh in everything else. What’s more,  I absolutely adore her in every interview I see of her in magazines and on TV. Also, she is best friends with Stephen Fry. If Fry thinks she’s cool; then she’s cool. Amiright?

photo: amazon.co.uk

Emma Rating: 5/5

Emma #6

Emma Jolly

As a  review from a top brand fashion magazine recently put it: ‘Emma Jolly is the newest and brightest star out of a Hollywood sky full of sparklers…’

Okay, OKAY. I’m doing it again. Maybe one day I’ll be as awesome as the ladies above, but I’m going to have to ask you to give me a bit of time. Thirty bajillion years should do it.

Emma Rating: TBC.

About Emma

Having lived and loved in the chaotic city of London for the past five years, I've recently relocated to Wellington. It feels small. I've been here a few months already, but I feel like I haven't really given it enough effort. I've been to a few cool places and met some great people, but it's time to actually discover this place. The challenge I've set myself is to discover one new thing about the city each week. Whether it's a bar, restaurant, gallery, store, or anything else, I'm on the hunt for everything this pretty little city has to offer. Ideas and new suggestions are of course welcome (and begged for) along the way. whereinthewelly.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

