Shakey Shakey

Standard

Okay, so NZ was just hit by a 6.5 mag earthquake. Geonet is telling me that the epicentre was about 60km west of Opunake, and was felt as far as Christchurch. Here in Wellington, our (already precarious) bookshelf did a little dance, and I was ready to poo my knickers.

Right, so, not huge news I guess, when you think about what’s been going on down in Christchurch for however long now…

Errr… HELLO?! The earth SHOOK under our feet. A whole COUNTRY just SPASMED.

This shit doesn’t happen in London. The ground is not waiting to explode underneath your feet at any God forsaken moment. (Unless, you count terrorists, that is. Pesky terrorists.)

I’m just not used to it, okay? How, at one minute, you can be chortling away to joyous internet based pleasures such as this, and the next minute be rudely awakened to the horrifying fragility of life and the unstoppable bad-assedness of Muva Nature.

As it began, Callum and I just looked at each other in silence for a few moments.Then, I noticed the bookshelves starting to shake and got ready to do my best impression of a panicking moron.

I was completely torn between the almost-overwhelming need to put on a pair of pants (in case a frantic, Godzilla-esque ‘running out into the street’ episode was in order) and throwing myself under the bed screaming “Goodbye, cruel world!!!”

As it happens, I did neither of those two things. I simply shut my laptop (why?) grabbed Callum’s hand (cute) and let out a puppy-ish whimper (pathetic).

And just like that, it was over. Callum got back to his video game, and I joined the rest of the population to begin the inevitable facebook status orgy of “Earthquake OMG you guyyyz”.

I fucking admire New Zealanders and their Blitz spirit attitude towards Earthquakes. I’m just not used to a natural disaster being a serious threat. People here just go with it, laugh about how scared they got, then continue on with whatever they were doing before the ground beneath their feet decided it was time to have a little boogie.

For a few minutes I thought how ridiculous it is that this sort of thing happens so regularly over here, and that everyone seems to feel just dandy about living underneath a ticking time bomb on a day-to-day basis. I thought it was silly that people just brushed over this freakin’ near death experience.

But, really, when it comes down to it… what else is there to do? Other than to wear your best underwear and a motorcycle helmet at all times, which I am strongly considering.

You sit tight, you wait for it to pass. When it passes and you haven’t died; you laugh about it. You’re thankful for another day without ‘The Big One’, and you carry on with life as normal. Probably, you watch this again.

Goodnight, cruel world.

About Emma

Having lived and loved in the chaotic city of London for the past five years, I've recently relocated to Wellington. It feels small. I've been here a few months already, but I feel like I haven't really given it enough effort. I've been to a few cool places and met some great people, but it's time to actually discover this place. The challenge I've set myself is to discover one new thing about the city each week. Whether it's a bar, restaurant, gallery, store, or anything else, I'm on the hunt for everything this pretty little city has to offer. Ideas and new suggestions are of course welcome (and begged for) along the way. whereinthewelly.wordpress.com

2 responses »

  1. Hilarious reveiw of our earthquake mentality! I Loved the bit about wearing your best knickers and a motorcycle helmet!!! I always worry if I go to bed starkers we’ll get the BIG ONE just to spite me! Almost happened tonight but luckily the neighbours get to live another day without having that frightening sight and the shaking to contend with!!!

  2. Exactly! I’m not sure I like the thought of my wobbly bits being on display to the public at any time, but, during an earthquake… that would be really terrifying!

Leave a Reply

