Soundtrack

Standard

This is the soundtrack to my life.

It’s really stupid.

Early Days

In my early days, I was warped between classic 90s pop, an unspeakable love of Madonna (I also thought Gwen Stefani was Madonna for a while, hence ‘Don’t Speak’) and the 80s music compilation tape my mum got me for no apparent reason.

The Spice Girls- Spice Up Your Life

Madonna- Evita (Not sure why Evita was my Madonna song of choice growing up. I never saw the movie.)

Steps- Last Thing On My Mind

No Doubt- Don’t Speak

Beautiful South- Rotterdam

S Club 7- Reach

Billy Rae Cyrus- Achy Breaky Heart (My dad used to sing this a lot. It stuck.)

Crystal Gayle- River Road (Unsure where this came from, but I always used to sing it when I was planning to run away from home after I wasn’t allowed a second bag of sweets.)

Bon Jovi- Living On A Prayer

Real Thing- You To Me Are Everything

Sandie Shaw- Always Something There To Remind Me

Sort of Madonna-looking, maybe?

High School

High School was a mix of catchy pop and trying to be cool. I mostly failed.

Blue- All Rise

Shakira- Whenever, Wherever

Maximo Park- The Coast Is Always Changing

The Killers- Mr Brightside

Sum 41- Fat Lip

Kelly Clarkson- Since U Been Gone

N.E.R.D- She Wants To Move

Imogen Heap- Speeding Cars

Incubus- Drive

The Strokes- 12:51

The Libertines- Can’t Stand Me Now

Basement Jaxx- Good Luck

The Subways- I Wanna Hear What You Have To Say (This and some of the others can be largely dedicated to my first boyfriend, who I still blame for warping my view of relationships forever.)

Scoundrels

University

Many of these songs were the staple ‘last songs to be played on a Wednesday night at Liquid’ types. After a full year of drunken nights there, those songs will stay in my mind forever.

Flo Rida- Low (To be played AT LEAST twice a night at Liquid.)

The Killers- Mr Brightside (again)

Pendulum- Propane Nightmares

Bon Jovi- Living On A Prayer (again)

Pearl Jam- Alive (Another boyfriend memory.)

Bright Eyes- First Day Of My Life

Kanye West- Stronger

Rihanna/Jay-Z- Umbrella

Kings Of Leon- Sex On Fire

Black Eyed Peas- I got A Feeling

Dizzee rascal- Bonkers

Kings Of Leon

Camden

Best and Worst moments of my life happened here. Amazing, adrenaline-rushing, I’m-exactly-where-I’m-supposed-to-be-and-I’m-gonna-live-forever-weeeee! times, with added deep-pit-of-despair-plus-hangover-what-have-I-become times (mostly lying in the foetal position on my bed).

Crystal Fighters- I Love London

Amy Winehouse- You Know I’m No Good (RIP etc)

Jay-Z/Alicia Keys- Empire State Of Mind (At The Flowerpot. Every night.)

Beyonce- Single Ladies

The Waifs- London Still

Stars- Your Ex-Lover Is Dead

Frank Turner- Long Live The Queen

The Smiths- This Charming Man

Biffy Clyro- Many Of Horror

Tina Turner- Proud Mary (To be screamed with Isobel.)

Mumford and Sons- Winter Winds

Maria Carey- All I Want For Xmas Is You (Tuffnell Park Xmas and the best food fight, in the world, EVER.)

The Maccabbees- Love You Better

Still Amazing

Flying Away

Not been away long enough to build a good list, but Laura sums it up pretty nicely.

Laura Marling- Goodbye England (Covered In Snow)

Ahh. Bitter-sweet nostalgia.

About Emma

Having lived and loved in the chaotic city of London for the past five years, I've recently relocated to Wellington. It feels small. I've been here a few months already, but I feel like I haven't really given it enough effort. I've been to a few cool places and met some great people, but it's time to actually discover this place. The challenge I've set myself is to discover one new thing about the city each week. Whether it's a bar, restaurant, gallery, store, or anything else, I'm on the hunt for everything this pretty little city has to offer. Ideas and new suggestions are of course welcome (and begged for) along the way. whereinthewelly.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

